Update: Like it says on the tin…

Yup, it’s certainly been a while since my last post, hasn’t it?  In fact, it’s not quite been six full months but pretty close… oh dear…

So… you’re probably expecting an explanation or apology of some description (or at least, probably deserve one), but… well… I’ve been a tad busy…

It would be wrong of me to try and claim that I’ve spent the entire six months hard at work, and an outright lie to boot, but in truth, I became an addict. Addiction is never a good thing under most circumstances, but in this instance it proved quite an eye-opener…

You see, there was this computer game released back in February/March 2016, it was for the PC, and was called XCOM 2… and I became hooked on it for a solid 4-6 weeks back in March/April. It’s soon to be available for Playstation 4 and Xbox One, too (Sept 2016), so if you own one of these consoles, consider yourself pre-warned! I may well talk about this game another time, when I finally venture forth and dare to play it again, perhaps… but for now, rest assured that it is indeed a thoroughly absorbing gaming experience…

XCOM_2

My XCOM 2 addiction had an astounding knock-on effect when it came to prioritising stuff (well, nothing got prioritised except playing the game, basically), but also led me into something of a relevation. You see, the world didn’t actually stop spinning, some of the work I’d let slip didn’t actually have world-destroying consequences attached, and my world didn’t actually seem the slightest bit bothered that I’d deserted it for such a long period of time…

What is this world of which you speak, m’laddo?  Ahh well, I’m glad you asked, ‘cos y’see, it’s the one that made me feel that I needed to keep my finger on the pulse of everything going on in the world of SF, Fantasy & Horror genre fiction, as well as organising regular York Pubmeets, etc.  Moreover, it led me to believe that to do so I had to keep churning out hundreds of words for review after review, update after update, column after column, article after article, blog after blog, etc. and well, frankly, I really didn’t (and don’t) have to, anymore… And while I have no issues with anyone else wanting to try and do something similar, I do know the world of genre fiction will always roll on – with or without me – and I simply have other priorities in my life just now, not least of which are my family and children, my design work and other projects , and some more personal projects that I hope to be able to share with you sometime soon…

All of this doesn’t mean I’ll be giving up on writing or everything genre-related, it just means I’ve been gradually taking a few steps back (and will probably continue to do so) while other things occupy my time.

So… where’s that apology, then…?  Ahh, yes, well, that’ll have to wait too, I’m just a bit busy right now, y’see… 😉

 

CLICK HERE to find XCOM 2 for PC at Amazon.co.uk

CLICK HERE to find XCOM 2 for PS4 on Amazon.co.uk

CLICK HERE to find XCOM 2 for Xbox One on Amazon.co.uk

 

